Summer Salad, Easy and Good

When I started this blog I indicated I might even share a recipe now and then. As most of you know, I love to cook. So in keeping with my promises, here’s a neat recipe I ran across recently. It’s an easy-to-do and delicious salad just in time for summer. Hope you try it and enjoy it.

Tip: Pick good ripe tomatoes.

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons malt vinegar
3/4 teaspoon packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt (sea salt is best, but use what you have on hand)
1/2 teaspoon of coarsely ground black pepper
2 lb. ripe tomatoes, cut crosswise…about 1/2 inch thick slices
1 scallion, thinly sliced diagonally

Whisk together oil, vinegar, brown sugar, salt, pepper in a small bowl. Arrange one third tomatoes in one layer on a large plate, then drizzle with some dressing and sprinkle with some chopped scallion. Add two more layers repeating the process above.

Makes six servings.

You could play with this adding some blue cheese or feta as another sprinkle item or even shake a bit of Italian seasoning on the stacks. I like the recipe the way it is however.

2 thoughts on “Summer Salad, Easy and Good

  1. Mike, if I travel down to Lonesome Dove will you make that salad for me with either the feta or blue cheese! Sounds really good but what a shame you stole it from your wife and claimed it as your own.

    (I know it was posted a year ago but I’m a little slow in finding your blog!)

    Kaye

Leave a Reply

